The Canisius University Archives is closed. We are no longer able to accept materials for the collection and we can not respond to research inquiries.
Online Exhibits
World War II Collection - A brief history and tribute to the men of Canisius who served in WWII, and the war's effects on campus life.
World War II Memoirs Collection - In response to the Archives' "WWII and Canisius" online exhibit, alumni/ae from the World War II era sent us personal memoirs and other accounts of their days at Canisius. The online exhibit is a compilation of those contributions.
Ludwig Bonvin, S.J. Collection - Ludwig Bonvin, S.J., was a published musician, composer, and professor at Canisius University, 1887-1913. This exhibit contains a short biography and audio files of some of his music as performed by Jane Carey, associate professor of fine arts at Canisius University.
History of the College Seal - A brief description and history of the original seals used by the college as well as the current seal, which was first used in 1961.
Digital Collections
Student Activities Collection - This collection contains photos from various student organizations, clubs and events from early to late 1900s.
The Griffin Newspaper Collection - The Griffin Student Newspaper Collection runs from September 29, 1933 through Summer 2003.
Canisius Presidents Collection - This collection contains photos of all the Canisius University presidents, beginning with Rev. William Becker, S.J. through current president, John J. Hurley.
Canisius History Collection - Canisius has a rich history. This collection documents the places and events that illustrate that history.
Canisius Buildings Collection - Canisius University has occupied three different campuses since its founding in 1870. This collection documents the construction and expansion of the College.
Canisius Memorabilia Collection - The Canisius University Archives contains the paper records of the institution, as well as artifacts of college. This collection ranges from the earliest years of the College to present day.
Lecturers & Guests Collection - This collection holds photos of invited guests and speakers to Canisius University.
Canisius Administration Collection - This collection includes photos of members of the College administration as well as photos from events honoring various individuals.
Coaches & Sports Collection - This collection shows a variety of sports memorabilia including programs, tickets and photos of coaches, teams and individual athletes.
Other Collections
Special Collections - The Canisius University Archives Balling Special Collections Room contains unique and rare items. These include books, manuscripts and collections related to the history of Canisius, Jesuits and western New York.
James J. Ruddick, S.J. Collection - This collection chronicles the history of the Canisius University Seismograph Station and seismology at the College.
New York Heritage Collection - NewYorkHeritage.org is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and everyone else interested the people, places and institutions of historical New York State. The site provides immediate, free access to digital collections that reflect New York State's long history.
