Articles - SOC 110 - Introduction to Sociology - Canisius University - Andrew L. Bouwhuis, S.J. Library at Canisius University

Steps to Finding Articles

Researchers have several options for locating books and articles. They can locate a an individual database from the list below (e.g., Sage), or they can search all of our resources: databases and our catalog, which includes over 1 million eBooks from the main library web page.

Search the database with keywords using filters in the left hand column to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article.

You can download and save the article, upload it to Zotero, or email it to yourself.

Primo Search

Databases

Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Excellent source for scholarly journal articles in the social sciences, including education. The humanities and sciences are also represented among the over 700 indexed titles.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A trusted resource, it contains full-text scholarly articles and peer-reviewed books. Ebooks are available in PDF format, are searchable and retrievable to the chapter level. The search screen allows you to search for either books or articles and allows users to limit by language, research area, and resource type.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Great for background information - Current information on controversial topics with pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, articles, links to websites, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and podcasts.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
GREAT PLACE TO START - Great for multidisciplinary topics and historical research. Arts, business, education, language, literature, religion, women’s studies and science journals. Provides a historical perspective because coverage starts as early as the 1600s and extends up to 3-5 years prior to the current year. Some articles are available in French and Spanish.

Articles not at Canisius

If you need an article that is not available at Canisius University, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan at no cost. Login with your Canisius College username and password.

Articles are delivered electronically to your ILL account, and you will notified when they are received. Most articles are received in about 24 hours, but it can take up to 5 days.