Home

https://request.org.uk/issues/social-issues/crime-and-punishment-2/

Reference Works

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Great for background information - A collection of reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) available online. Titles in Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, Science and Social Science.

Searching for Scholarly Articles

Primo will allow you to search all databases the Library subscribes to. Type your key words into the box, and use the limit "Journal Articles" under Resource Type on the left side of the screen.

In addition, there are databases that focus on topics related to Criminal Justice:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes country information, company profiles, SEC filings, international, domestic, and local news, European Union law, federal and state statues as well as federal, state, court of appeals and supreme court cases.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
A database comprised of historical and current collections of legal documents. Collections cover law journals, animal law and welfare, the Brennan center for justice publications, the code of federal regulations, the federal register library, reports of US presidential commissions, tax foundation archive, foreign relations of the U.S., history of international law, national survey of state laws, religion and the law, slavery in American & the world, numerous U.S. governmental documents, codes, regulations, collections, statues and laws, women and the law and world constitutions.
Supported by the generosity of William S. Hein & Co, Inc.
Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
It contains articles in criminology, anthropology, forensics, law and political science. Also includes information on developing policy, going to court and writing sociological reports.

NY State Resources

Local (Buffalo, NY or Erie County) Resources

Erie County Bar Association
The Erie County Bar Association

Websites

New York State Laws
US Courts
Intro the the Federal Court System
National Institute of Justice
NIJ is the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice. The site includes research on a wide range of topics related to crime and justice.

How to Find Books and E-books

To search for books and e-books in the Canisius Library:

Type in the keyword you are searching for and use the limit "books and e-books" located in the left-hand column.

Ex. death penalty

You also have access to the book collections from other private colleges from New York State. Click here to search these collections. Any book you request will be shipped to Canisius for your use. Books usually take 5 business days to reach the college.

You may also request books not owned by Canisius or ConnectNY through Interlibrary loan.