APA - Criminal Justice - Canisius University - Andrew L. Bouwhuis, S.J. Library at Canisius University

Paper Format 7th Edition

Sample Paper
The final product . . . annotated
more...less...
Source: APA
APA Paper Formatting
Step-by-step instructions.
Video -- David Taylor
more...less...
Video also embedded in left column

Running Head -- Explained
APA blog. Includes links to other relevant blog entries and formatting instructions.
Adding a Running Head and Page Numbers
Video tutorial Windows 2010
more...less...
St. Edwards University

In-Text Citing --
The basics summarized in a page. Includes links to relevant APA blog entries.

APA Style Guide to Electronic Sources
APA comprehensive publication focusing on electronic and web sources.

Why we need to cite . . .
. . . why we don't do it.
Includes Canisius University Code of Academic Integrity.
Paraphrasing -- avoiding plagiarism
Video
more...less...
Nova Southeastern

Reference List Format
. . . the details in a nutshell . . . margins, spacing, order .

Formatting the Reference Page
Using Word 2010. Video.
more...less...
Author: University of Northern Colorado

What Is DOI?
APA's system of identifying and citing electronic scholarly journal articles.
DOI Lookup
When you have an article and need to FIND the DOI . . Use --> Bibliographic Metadata Search
DOI Resolver
When you have the DOI and need to identify the article . . . .
DOI and URL Flowchart
How to determine when to include DOIs, URLs, or database information for you reference citations.

2017 DOI Display Guidelines
Adding a security feature: https://
Sample: https://doi.org/10.1037/arc0000014
2014 DOI Display Guidelines
Explains: http://dx.doi.org
How to use the new DOI format in APA Style

All DOI format styles remain acceptable. Be consistent in format style used.

APA Style Guide for Electronic Sources
APA's primary publication for citing electronic sources . . . websites, library databases, books, social media, and more.
Website vs. Web Pages
Web Pages
Tutorial, audio w/PPT
more...less...
Nova Sputheastern University
Retrieval dates
Ebook
Guidance for items such as e-reader, NetLibrary, ebrary, Google books).
Secondary sources
. . . a source found within another source.
Classical work
Includes works like the Bible, Qur'an
Streaming video
Text and video presentation. Also, an example of a database with unique content. Item not available elsewhere..

Art
Painting, sculpture, performance, installation, cultural icon.
DSM
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)
Mental Measurements Yearbook / Test Critiques
. . . in a nutshell.
more...less...
Eastern Michigan University Library
Mental Measurements Yearbook
A more detailed and expansive explanation.
more...less...
This publication was written by Jay Brandes, Global Campus Librarian, Troy University.
Updated 5/24/2014.
Psychological Test
Tests. scales, instruments, quizzes, surveys, measures .
Facebook: Fan Pages, Group Pages, and Profile Information
Social Media
Twitter, Facebook, Google
UN document See paragraph 4.

Documenting Sources in APA Style: 2010 Update
Pages 1-18 (in text; list of references for hardcopy documents e.g., books and articles).
Pages 19-32 (electronic sources documentation)

Have some questions? Open the Archives link. Go to the blog's Google search box on the right, Type the keyword(s) for your issue, Press SEARCH.