Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian
Librarians are here to help you.That's what we do!
1 - Call Us
Reference Desk 716-888-8411
List of Librarians
2 - Text Us
716-712 4357 (HELP)
3 - Ask A Librarian (Online Chat)
Feeling shy? Studying in the middle of the night? Use our online chat reference service available 24/7.
Or try Text A Librarian at 716-712-HELP
4 - Book A Librarian
Schedule an individual reference session with a librarian. Get all of your research questions answered and keep your paper
and reference list on the right track.
Hours and Calendar
Check here for our current hours and holiday hours.
If you need an article that Canisius does not own or one we only have in print, place a request through our Interlibrary Loan Service. We can borrow materials for you from libraries across the country or scan articles we own here.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary research in science, education, social science, business, engineering and technology, mathematics, medicine, psychology, and biotechnology journals from 1995 to the present.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of selected articles published by The American Chemical Society. Includes a search engine, and allows for citation cross-reference searching.
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
A great place to start when looking for current issues in science. This collection contains peer-reviewed articles on the latest scientific developments.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
GREAT PLACE TO START - Search for magazine, newspaper and journal articles on any topic. Also includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Documentaries from 1974 - present. Interdisciplinary resource with international issue-based documentaries and independent films. Includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science, and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Clips, playlists, etc., can be integrated into web pages and learning management systems either as links or embeds.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
GREAT PLACE TO START - Great for multidisciplinary topics and historical research. Arts, business, education, language, literature, religion, women’s studies and science journals. Provides a historical perspective because coverage starts as early as the 1600s and extends up to 3-5 years prior to the current year. Some articles are available in French and Spanish.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).