Religion

Ask A Librarian

Librarians are here to help you.That's what we do!

1 - Call Us
Reference Desk 716-888-8411
List of Librarians

2 - Text Us
716-431-3609

3 - Ask A Librarian (Online Chat)
Feeling shy? Studying in the middle of the night? Use our online chat reference service available 24/7.
Or try Text A Librarian at 716-431-3609.

4 - Book A Librarian
Schedule an individual reference session with a librarian. Get all of your research questions answered and keep your paper
and reference list on the right track.

Hours and Calendar

Check here for our current hours and holiday hours.

Interlibrary Loan:
If you need an article that Canisius does not own or one we only have in print, place a request through our Interlibrary Loan Service. We can borrow materials for you from libraries across the country or scan articles we own here.

Welcome to the library's guide on resources for religion. Please check the tabs on the top for information about finding specific types of information. Also, check out the Religion at Canisius, the Religious Studies department's website for information on classes and professors.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Great for background information - A collection of reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) available online. Includes the Encyclopedia of Religion, The New Catholic Enecylopedia, and more.

ReligionFacts-Just the Facts
The goal of ReligionFacts is to provide objective and reliable information—“just the facts”—on the many answers that have been given to these questions. This very broad goal means that we cover a wide variety of religions, belief systems, and world views—the grounds for a group's inclusion are only that it offers an explanation of ultimate reality or the purpose of life and has (or had) a significant number of followers. Not sure where to start? Try our famous Big Religion Chart or explore the features below.
Intrenet Sacred Texts Archive
The largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet. The site is dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship, and has the largest readership of any similar site on the web.

Did your professor put materials on Reserve for your class? These materials were suggested by your professor as really important to your studies. You can search By course or By instructor.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Citations and book holding information only. Search for books in libraries all over the world. No full text, request books using the request item button.

Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The database where for beginning researchers in religion and philosophy should start. It contains articles on different religions and philosophies and their impact on our daily lives.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Great for multidisciplinary topics and historical research. Provides a historical perspective because coverage starts as early as the 1900s and extends up to 3-5 years prior to the current year.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A trusted resource, it contains full-text scholarly articles and peer-reviewed books. Ebooks are available in PDF format, are searchable and retrievable to the chapter level. The search screen allows you to search for either books or articles and allows users to limit by language, research area, and resource type.

The Holy See
The Holy See is the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of the Catholic Church in Rome, the episcopal see of the Pope, and an independent sovereign entity.
Religion: Three Religions, One God
From PBS, a brief look at Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.
World Religions Map
Explore religious beliefs around the world through an interactive map produced by WGBH. The interactive opens to show a map that displays the religions that are the most prevalent in each country around the world.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.