RST 101

This guide was created for Dr. Nancy Rourke's RST 101 class at Canisius University.Please feel free to use these resources for your paper and to ask me or any other librarian for more assistance. Be sure to look at the Fun with Call Numbers Guide.

Keyword sheet
A place to brainstorm your ideas for your research topic.

Gale eBooks
Great for background information - A collection of reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) available online. Titles in Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, Science and Social Science.

ABL Library Homepage
Search everything in our catalogs.

ProQuest
GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).
JSTOR
This is a large multidisciplinary database that features a large religion collection. Provides a historical perspective because coverage starts as early as the 1600s and extends up to 3-5 years prior to the current year.

All our Databases
Need more? You can find all of the rest of our databases here.

Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition
Details on Chicago style from OWL at Purdue.

Incorporating information from outside sources is a skill that is developed over time and with practice. It is important to give credit to sources and indicate in your writing what information came from sources. It is not enough to only cite direct quotations from a source; writers need to give credit to the ideas that come from outside sources even if the information has been summarized or paraphrased into the writer's own words.

The tutorial modules linked below can offer some strategies for avoiding plagiarizing the ideas of others.

Crediting Sources
This is a series of short videos that will help students "find their own voices" and avoid plagiarizing when using information form sources.

Ask A Librarian

Librarians are here to help you.That's what we do!

1 - Call Us
Reference Desk 716-888-8411
List of Librarians

2 - Text Us
716-431-3609

3 - Ask A Librarian (Online Chat)
Feeling shy? Studying in the middle of the night? Use our online chat reference service available 24/7.
Or try Text A Librarian at 716-431-3609.

4 - Book A Librarian
Schedule an individual reference session with a librarian. Get all of your research questions answered and keep your paper
and reference list on the right track.

Hours and Calendar

Check here for our current hours and holiday hours.

Interlibrary Loan:
If you need an article that Canisius does not own or one we only have in print, place a request through our Interlibrary Loan Service. We can borrow materials for you from libraries across the country or scan articles we own here.