Home - ENG 111 - Canisius University - Andrew L. Bouwhuis, S.J. Library at Canisius University

ENG 111

This guide was created for ENG 111 Classes at Canisius University.

Please feel free to use these resources for your paper and to ask any librarian for more assistance. You can email us at library@canisius.edu, or call us at 716-888-8411 or make an appointment by using Book-A-Librarian.

This is a link to a set of 9 tutorials. In order to see the table of contents, click on the lines in the upper right corner of the frame, and select the topic that will address your current needs. If you are off campus, you need to be logged into my.canisius.edu, and if you are on campus, your network should be set to "Canisius Wireless." If you are having difficulty accessing "canisius wireless," contact the helpdesk at helpdesk@canisius.edu.

ProQuest Research Companion
ProQuest Research Companion guides students through common challenges and helps them overcome their frustrations. It also helps educators measure their students’ learning and identify gaps in their understanding.

ProQuest
GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).
Academic OneFile
GREAT PLACE TO START - Search for magazine, newspaper and journal articles on any topic. Also includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC.

All our Databases
Need more? You can find all of the rest of our databases here. Items can be filtered using the tabs across the top: Subjects, Types, Products

Gale eBooks
Great for background information - A collection of reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) available online. Titles in Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, Science and Social Science.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Great for background information - Current information on controversial topics with pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, articles, links to websites, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and podcasts.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Great for background information - Current information on controversial topics with pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, articles, links to websites, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and podcasts.

Gale eBooks
Great for background information - A collection of reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) available online. Titles in Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, Science and Social Science.

Databases have become more sophisticated and make it easier to determine if a source is scholarly. In most databases, users can filter results by choosing "peer reviewed" or "scholarly articles," usually in the left column of the page. This can take much of the guesswork out of the process; nevertheless, it is still useful to know the differences between scholarly and non-scholarly works. The chart below assumes a physical rather than digital item, but there are also categories that apply to both digital and physical.