Using Databases - SPMT 480 - Canisius University - Andrew L. Bouwhuis, S.J. Library at Canisius University

Databases

ProQuest
GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).
Gale eBooks
Great for background information - A collection of reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) available online. Titles in Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, Science and Social Science.
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE)
A comprehensive treatment of sports and entertainment. Featuring the topical arrangement of more than 8,000 scholarly articles, it also offers federal and state documents, full-text books, a selective bibliography, topically arranged external links, archives from the National Sports Institute of Marquette University, and materials on the Athlete Agents Act.
Supported by the generosity of william S. Hein & Co, Inc.
Business Economics and Theory
Best place to start for economics research - find information and articles on virtually every economics related topic.
Business Insights: Essentials
In-depth information on U.S. and international companies, industries and products. Includes SWOT reports, financial analysis tools, business associations, investment reports and market research reports.
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship
Covers all aspects of small business management, including starting, operating and maintaining a business. Provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
Academic OneFile
GREAT PLACE TO START - Search for magazine, newspaper and journal articles on any topic. Also includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC.
ScienceDirect
Multidisciplinary research in science, education, social science, business, engineering and technology, mathematics, medicine, psychology, and biotechnology journals from 1995 to the present.
RKMA Market Research and Forecast Handbooks
Market research reports compiled from widely available data. Topics include business-to-business marketing, consumer behavior, consumer marketing, entertainment, media and advertising, health care, leisure, restaurants, retail, sports marketing, and travel and tourism. Each market research handbook includes market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics. In addition to in-depth analyses, the handbooks include links to hundreds of websites for additional information.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
A key resource for kinesiology, physical education and sports majors –it contains articles and books from sports related fields that cannot be found elsewhere.

The Web vs. Library Databases

Databases are NOT the Internet. We access databases with Internet browsers, but we are not searching the Internet.

QUESTION: Can’t I find the information contained in databases if I use Internet search engines? ANSWER: No. Copyright protects authors and publishers from other people copying their work without permission. If the published material could be accessed for free on the Internet then authors and publishers couldn’t make money. Libraries pay to have access to this information through databases.

QUESTION: So which is best, the Internet or databases? ANSWER: It depends on the information you want. Consider that anyone can publish anything on the Internet, so you must be willing to sort through and evaluate an Internet site’s content. Databases are more credible because publishers have checked the contents for accuracy and reliability.

QUESTION: So when it is important to use library databases instead of the Internet? ANSWER: You use databases if you are a student doing research, and you are looking for reliable sources of information related to academic subjects. (Most college instructors require some form of database research.) If you need reliable information from newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, or biographical or statistical information, use databases.

From https://slideplayer.com/slide/9488214/

A comparison
A comparison of the web and library databases, from Yale University.

Evaluating Internet-Based Information: Library databases vs. search engines
A guide from Bethel College, it compares the various differences between library databases and Internet search engines.