Library Resources for First-Year Experience 2021: Other Search Platforms

GREAT PLACE TO START - Searches many different collections at once and covers a wide range of subjects. Includes newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, reports and blogs. Includes full text of the New York Times (1980 – present), Wall Street Journal (1984 – present) and JOPERD – Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (1988-present).

A collection of ebooks on education, finance, health and nutrition, many are general interest titles. If you want to see all of the e-books that Canisius has access to search the library catalog for your topic and choose Format: E-BOOK from the left column.

GREAT PLACE TO START - Great for multidisciplinary topics and historical research. Arts, business, education, language, literature, religion, women’s studies and science journals. Provides a historical perspective because coverage starts as early as the 1600s and extends up to 3-5 years prior to the current year. Some articles are available in French and Spanish.

A trusted resource, it contains full-text scholarly articles and peer-reviewed books. Ebooks are available in PDF format, are searchable and retrievable to the chapter level. The search screen allows you to search for either books or articles and allows users to limit by language, research area, and resource type.

This multidisciplinary, streaming video collection of tens of thousands of titles touches nearly every subject. The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage. The collection includes 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC and Stanley Milgram videos.

The videos, which include searchable transcripts, are taken from commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage (primary source), public affairs footage and documentaries. It is designed for teaching and research.

The collection includes filmed footage of therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, training videos and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals with current and emerging areas, such as cyberbullying social media, autism, eating disorders and PTSD. Prominent therapists are also featured demonstrating their methods. The collection directly discusses the CACREP 8 Core Areas required by many states for counselor certification as well as a wide range of contemporary issues from working with LGBT clients to helping clients suffering from PTSD.

Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. The collection gives students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles. The videos from Harry Wong’s The Effective Teacher are also included in this collection.

Documentaries from 1974 - present. Interdisciplinary resource with international issue-based documentaries and independent films. Includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science, and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Clips, playlists, etc., can be integrated into web pages and learning management systems either as links or embeds.

Human Rights Studies Online uses a case study approach to document and analyze over 30 major human rights violations and atrocities including the Holocaust, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Rwanda. This database provides access to books, primary documents, audio, maps, images, and video.

This collection provides coverage of both current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Content includes articles, books, images, videos and audio clips.

A multi-disciplinary collection of e-books. To access a book select Canisius from the drop down menu and then log in to your My Canisius account. If you want to see all of the e-books that Canisius has access to search the library catalog for your topic and choose Format: E-BOOK from the left column.

A collection of ebooks on education, finance, health and nutrition, many are general interest titles. If you want to see all of the e-books that Canisius has access to search the library catalog for your topic and choose Format: E-BOOK from the left column.

Great for background information - A collection of reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) available online. Titles in Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, Science and Social Science.

A very detailed encyclopedia that contains more authoritative and scholarly information that you would find in Wikipedia. It contains the complete Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. The Research Tools section provides helpful global information: get quick facts, statistics and maps to compare countries and regions throughout the world.