library banner

How to Cite Your Sources

  • Use the citation style your professor requires. This will probably be in your syllabus; but if it isn't, ask your professor (i.e., the person who will be grading your paper).
  • If your professor hasn't expressed a preference for a particular documentation style, then choose ONE style, and use it consistently while writing your paper.
  • Keep detailed notes on the sources you use, including the bibliographic descriptions of all books, journal articles, Web sites, etc. You will save time and frustration when putting your paper in final form if you take care of this before you write. Book descriptions can always be retrieved from the catalog if you know the title and/or author; the same is true for articles -- even if they aren't full-text online, the descriptions are very often available in an online database. Web sites, on the other hand, can change overnight, so you need to be careful with the details when you initially retrieve them.
  • There are three styles in wide use by students and faculty at Canisius. Below are some brief descriptions of each style
MLA (Modern Language Association):
Generally speaking, MLA is widely used for papers in the disciplines of the humanities (e.g., literature, philosophy, history, religious studies, etc.). The MLA Handbook is written for students and other writers of research papers and has all the details you need in order to follow MLA style. We have several copies of the Handbook at the Reference Desk for students to use.

Brief guide to using the MLA Handbook. - how to format citations or how to cite sources in MLA style.

If your questions are about citing electronic sources (e.g., articles you've retrieved from ProQuest or non-subscription Web sites you used in your research), the Modern Language Association has provided guidelines and a good set of examples on their web site.

APA (American Psychological Association):

Courses in the social sciences (e.g., psychology, sociology, etc.) and education will often require using APA style. The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is intended, basically, to assist writers who intend to publish their work, usually in peer-reviewed journals. There is no simplified version of the manual for students. There are also several copies in the Reference Desk collection, which students may use in the Library.

Brief guide to using the Publication Manual - how to format citations or how to cite sources in APA style.

If you have questions about citing electronic sources (e.g., articles you've retrieved from PsycArticles or non-subscription Web sites you used in your research), the APA has provided guidelines and a good set of examples of referencing these types of sources on their web site.

Chicago (University of Chicago Press):

Some disciplines in the social sciences or humanities may require use of the Chicago Manual of Style. A simplified version of this manual, intended for students, is Kate L. Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations . Style instructions in course syllabi may refer to these two manuals by author and/or full title, or they may simple say 'Chicago' or 'Turabian'. The major point of departure between this manual and others under discussion is that is gives the users the option of using either footnotes and a bibliography or parenthetical references and a reference list.

Brief guide to using Turabian's Manual - how to format citations or how to cite sources in the Turabian style.

If your questions are about citing electronic sources (e.g., articles you've retrieved from ProQuest or non-subscription Web sites you used in your research), there is a link from our site to an electronic manual entitled Online! Citation Styles, which gives guidelines and examples for citing these kinds of Materials in Chicago style.

ACS (American Chemical Society):

American Chemical Society Style Guide - a quick start guide to citing sources.  For more information, refer to ACS Style Guide in the Reference section of the Library.

 

how do I ?