Guide to Economics and Finance Materials
Finding Articles
Business Source Premier - This is available from EBSCOhost.
Select "Business Databases" and click on "Continue." This large business
database indexes and has the full-texts of many important economics and finance
journals. Because it has easy access to many full-text articles, it is a
good place to begin your search.
ABI Inform - This is part of ProQuest Direct. From
the ProQuest screen, you can click on "Select multiple databases" to read
about the three ABI/INFORM databases and then select the ones you want to
search. They provide indexing and abstracts to articles from leading economics
and finance publications and much more. Full text is available for hundreds
of titles.
Sage journals online A full text database of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine journals.
JSTOR - This is an archival collection of full-text journals. It offers
back issues of journals from the very first issue (starting in the 1800's
for some journals). It has 37 economics journals and 5 finance journals that
will be especially useful to you if you need articles that are too old to
be found in most of the subject databases listed above. The most recent articles
in JSTOR are, for most journals, about five years old.
Conference Board -
This is a searchable database of full-text research reports on the latest
issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased
research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership
decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity,
CRM and more. Full-text coverage from 1995 to date.
Journals and
eJournals on Economics
Facts and Data
Conference
Board - This site, mentioned above, includes information on US and
global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional, national,
and international economic conditions.
Economic statistics briefing
room - The purpose of this service is to provide easy access to current
Federal economic indicators. It provides links to information produced
by a number of Federal agencies. All of the information included in the
EconomicStatistics Briefing Room is maintained and updated by the statistical
units of those agencies. All the estimates for the indicators presented
in the Federal Statistics Briefing Rooms are the most currently available
values.
Industry norms
and key business ratios - [BUS REF HF5681.R25 I63] This source gives
access to financial statistics in an easy-to-read spreadsheet format on
nearly 800 lines of business.
STAT-USA - This source
delivers vital economic, business, and international trade information produced
by the U.S. Government.
Statistics Canada - Statistics Canada produces
statistics that help Canadians better understand their country--its population,
Materials, economy, society and culture.
Economic Census of the United States
(U.S. Census Bureau) - The Economic Census provides a detailed portrait
of the Nation's economy once every five years, from the national to the
local level.
U.S. Department of Labor,
Bureau of Labor Statistics - This website gives the latest economic
indicators and produces statistics on employment and unemployment; consumer
expenditures; prices and living conditions; wages and employee benefits;
productivity and technological changes in U.S. industries; projections
of economic growth, the labor force, and employment by industry and occupation;
and occupational injuries and illnesses.
Chartbook of International Labor Comparisons - At this site, the Bureau
of International Labor Affairs and the Bureau of Labor Statistics bring together
data from a wide range of US and international sources, providing comparative
information that can be used to evaluate the competitive position of the
US in the global economy.
Report of the Council of
Economic Advisers to Congress - This includes monthly reports of economic
statistics, including gross domestic product, income measures, price indices,
employment data, credit market data, and some international statistics.
Statistical
Abstract of the United States - This contains general U.S. statistics,
including much of economic or financial interest.
Web sites
WebEc - WWW Materials in Economics -
WebEc is an effort to categorize free information in economics on the WWW.
AmosWEB - This is a portal that introduces
economics to a general audience in plain language with examples that they can
easily understand.
The International
Economics Network - This is a directory of internet Materials devoted
to international economics and its related disciplines.
Inomics - The Internet Site for Economists -
Inomics is an Internet service especially tailored to the needs of economists.
At this site you can find job openings for economists, conference announcements,
a human-edited directory as well as a database of research papers in economics.
VIBES - Virtual International Business & Economic Sources - VIBES provides
over 1,600 links to Internet sources of international business and economic
information that are in English and available free of charge.
Nouriel Roubini's Global Macroeconomic
and Financial Policy Site - This site, maintained by a professor at the
Stern School of Business at New York University, provides detailed information
on current macroeconomic and financial policy topics, including links to
country-specific economic information.
Finance Materials on the Web -
This site, maintained by Prof. Ian Giddy at the Stern School of Business at
New York University, covers several areas of finance in great detail, giving
links to numerous sites.
Federal Reserve System -
This site gives a wealth of information about the Federal Reserve System, monetary
policy, banking information and regulation, economic research and data, consumer
information, community development, and more.
Europa - Europa, the portal site of the
European Union, provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and
essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation
currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the
EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European
Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.
Interntational Monetary Fund - This is the website
of the International Monetary Fund, an international organization of 184 member
countries. The IMF was established to promote international monetary cooperation,
exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth
and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance
to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment.
World Bank - This is the website of the World
Bank, one of the world's largest sources of development assistance. Its primary
focus is on helping the poorest people and the poorest countries.
Stock Exchanges