|
What is a Citation?
CITATION: Information
that is used to identify material. A journal citation, for example,
includes the author, title of the article, title of the journal,
volume number, date, and pages.
A Citation to Journal Article from the EbscoHOST
database:
Understanding the Greenhouse Effect: Is Global Warming Real?;
By: Dunnivant, Frank M.; Moore, A.; Alfano, M.J.; Brzenk, R.; Buckley,
P.T.; Newman, M.E.; Krow, Grant R.; Kostka, Kim., Journal of Chemical
Education, Dec2000, Vol. 77 Issue 12, p1602, 2p
Contains the following information:
Title of the Article; Author(s) of the Article; Name
of the Journal (Journal Title) the Article appeared in, Month and Year, Volume
Issue, Page where the Article appeared.
Very often you will be looking for or finding citations
in the Library's
online databases. If there is no full text available online:
Look up the Name of the Journal in the Library
Catalog. If you find it in the catalog, sometimes it is available
in a different database. Use the link to search that database.
Otherwise, you can ask for the journal in the basement of the
Library. They will need to know the Name of the Journal, Month,
Year and Volume (and possibly the Issue) you
want.
More Help:
Using
Style Manuals
Sources: Their Use and
Acknowledgment
APA Style - Electronic
References
American Chemical
Society Style Guide - a quick start guide to citing sources. For
more information, refer to ACS
Style Guide in the reference section of the Library.
The
Chicago Manual of Style FAQ
Citing
Government Information Sources
ONLINE!
Citation Styles
Linking
to Articles in the Library's Databases.
|