library banner

Book Reviews, summaries and Table of Contents are available through the Library Catalog.

From the Library Catlog, click on the book jacket picture or the more info button button for more information on most current books. (Turn off pop up blocker for syndetics.com)

 

Electronic Sources (General)

Book review digest plus - Full text reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction titles. Click Book Review Digest Plus at top of page to search this database.

ProQuest: Choose More Search Options by clicking on the link at the bottom of the ProQuest screen. Type the title or author as a Citation and Abstract query. Choose "book review" in the Article Type box below. This database also includes full text coverage of the "New York Times Book review" from 1999-present.

EBSCOHost Academic Search Premier: Click All Databases and Academic Search Premier. Type the title or author as an Default Fields query. Limit your results: in the Document Type limiter choose Book Review.

JSTOR: Most useful for older books because this database does not cover journals published in the last few years. Click Search and then type in the book's title. Mark off the appropriate subject heading(s) and choose reviews and opinion pieces.

Subject Specific Sources

America: History and Life: Contains book reviews from periodicals based in American history. Choose an "Advanced Search." Enter the book's title or a topic in the keyword box. Type "book review" in the document type to restrict your search. The companion database for history about the rest of the world, Historical Abstracts, does not contain book reviews.

ATLA: Reviews books in the field of religion. Choose ATLA and then type in the title of the book in the search box. Be sure to change the publication type below to "Review."

Web sites

Amazon.com: Editorial reviews from The New York Times Book Review, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal and more. Just search for the book and then click on "See all editorial reviews."

Yahoo! Book Reviews: Provides links to sites of the web that review books. The sites are divided by genre.

H-Net Review Project: Maintained at Michigan State University, this site allows users to read academic book reviews by author, title, subject or reviewer.

 

how do I ?