
Guide to Anthropology MaterialsFinding ArticlesEBSCOHost - Provides full text for thousands of scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Sage journals online A full text database of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine journals. JSTOR - JSTOR is an archival collection of over 130 full-text journals. It offers back issues of journals from the very first issue (starting in the 1800's for some journals). It includes Current Anthropology (1959-1999), Anthropology Today (1985-1996), Annual Review of Anthropology (1972-1996) , American Antiquity (1935-1996) , Journal of Roman Studies (1911-1996) and World Archaeology (1969-1998). ProQuest Direct - Periodical Abstracts, ABI/Inform Global, American Medical Association Publications, Newspaper Abstracts. Full text for many periodicals and newspapers. A general database that covers anthropology. ScienceDirect - Includes full-text articles from over 700 major scientific journals. Especially useful for physical and forensic anthropology. Web of science. - The most complete search of science and social science literature available. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited referencesearching: 1- Trace how an idea has been confirmed, applied, extended or corrected in later work. 2- Identify authors who cite a particular article (yourown or someone else's). 3 - Identify highly cited authors in a field of study. 4- Observe the progress of an author's research. 5 - Evaluate the impact of an author's work in a particular field. 6 - Conduct multidisciplinary searches. Web sitesArchaeological fieldwork opportunities - The Archaeological Institute of America's online version of their Archaeological Fieldwork Opportunities Bulletin. Archaeology Discussion Lists - different list serves arranged in the following categories: general, history, and archaeology, Palaeolithic-Neolithic, ancient languages, Near East, Eastern Mediterranean, and African; Greece and Rome, non-Western and intercultural, medieval to modern, general anthropology and UseNet groups. Anthropology in the News -This page from Texas A & M provides anthropological news stories. CSA: the Center for the Study of Architecture/Archaeology -encourages the appropriate use of information technology by those involved in research in archaeology and architectural history; the site includes Lantern slides of classical antiquity (scanned images of late nineteenth/early twentieth century glass plates) and articles from theie newsletter. National Park Service Archaeology Program - information on current National Park Service activities in archaeology. WWWorld of Archaeology - List of archaeological websites compiled by Archaeology Magazine. Further ResearchMany books on Anthropology can be found be found in the GN call number section of the Library. ARD- Anthropology Review Database African American archaeology, history and cultures - African-American archaeology, history and cultures, and broader subjects of African diaspora archaeology. |