ABI/INFORM - Search nearly 3,000 periodicals for articles on business and economics, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, taxation, and information on 60,000 + companies. Search by NAICS code or keyword. Mostly full-text, with coverage from 1985-present.
Databases for Journal Articles A to Z List
Don't know where to start?
Academic Search Premier - EBSCOhost - Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; 8,300 journals indexed in total. Be careful how you search this database. It is a huge database with many newspapers and popular magazines. Using the Scholarly/Peer Reviewed limiter is highly recommended.
ACLS Humanities E-Book - Provides full-text and full-page-image access to 1,700 titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies, works both old and new.
ACM portal: the ACM digital library - Search books, journals, dissertations, theses, proceedings, and technical reports on computer science and information technology topics.
American Chemical Society Web Editions - Search journals covering all areas of chemistry, over130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to the introduction of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879.
Art Full Text (WilsonWeb) - international array of peer-selected publications. Includes Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
ATLA religion - EBSCOHost Religion - Search major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Full text is provided for more than 238,000 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 100 journals, from 1949 to the present, and sometimes as far back as the nineteenth century.
BasicBIOSIS - Easy-to-understand information from core life-science journals. Abstracts only. No full text.
Bibliography of the History of Art - covers visual arts in all media including traditional fine arts (painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture); decorative and applied arts; material culture; photography and contemporary new media; visual arts aspects of performing arts. BHA includes European art from late Antiquity to the present; American art from the European arrival to the present; Christian and/or European colonial art in Asia Minor, Africa, India, the Far East, and Australia.
Biography reference bank - Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.
BioOne - Search research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Full text.
Birds of North America online - This database provides scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada, with image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and recordings of bird's songs and calls.
Books24x7 - Full-text of books covering technology topics, including networking, programming languages, and more. Use your Griffmail address when you register for free (student@canisius.edu) http://0-library.books24x7.com.cando.canisius.edu/home.asp - Off Campus Access
Buros Mental measurements yearbook - Reviews of standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Find tests, and then look them up in the Library catalog, http://cando.canisius.edu, to see if it is available to borrow.
Business & company ASAP - Global business information. Research company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and industry news and periodicals. Search by NAICS code in Advanced Search.
Business & company resource center - Global business information. Research company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and industry news and periodicals. Search by NAICS code in Advanced Search.Business First of Buffalo - local Buffalo business news and resources.
Business source premier - EBSCOHost Business - Search scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Search by NAICS code.
Cabell's business, educational, and psychology directories - Directory of publishing opportunities in educational curriculum and methods, educational psychology and administration, accounting, economics and finance, management, marketing, and psychology.
Communication & mass media complete - search over 200 communication and mass media journals.Conference Board Database - Includes research reports on key business topics; annual surveys on executive compensation, orporate contributions, Directorship compensation and Board practices; topline data on consumer confidence, consumer internet barometer, country indicators and help-wanted index.
Congressional record online via GPO access - Daily issues of the Congressional Record (1994-present), the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, updated between 9:00 and 11:00 a.m. EST each day. At the back of each daily issue is the Daily Digest, which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.
Contemporary women's issues - Covers a broad range of womens studies topics. Abstracts only. No full text.CountryWatch - Provides up-to-date information and news on over 192 countries of the world. Includes political, economic, and business information for its clients in the form of Country review and Country wire.
CQ researcher - Current events - detailed information on themes ranging from technology, health and international affairs. Each report contains background, current situation assessments, pro/con statements and bibliographies that point to resources for further research.
Custom Newspapers - A full text database of 150 national and international newspapers
Dissertation abstracts - Abstracts of dissertations and monographs. No full text.
Education Full Text (WilsonWeb) - Full text from more than 350 periodicals. Subject coverage includes: preschool through higher education; special, vocational, multicultural and comparative education; teacher education and evaluation; school administration and parent-teacher relations.
EJS - Electronic Journals Service - Access to some online journal subscriptions.
Encyclopedia of information science and technology - Current concepts, issues and emerging technologies. Full text.
ERIC / Education Databases (EBSCOHost) - The premier source for articles, books, and dissertations on topics in education. Check the Library catalog for books found here.
FirstSearch - A collection of databases that includes arts/humanities, business/law, education/social studies, science/technology, and general/books/periodicals. Abstracts only. No full text.
Gale Databases - Gale Virtual Reference Library, NYS Newspapers, Business and Company ASAP, Business and Company Resource Center, Twaynes Authors Series, Health and Wellness Resource Center.
Google Scholar - use Google to search for scholarly articles or to chase citations.
GROVEmusic - Full-text of the New Grove dictionary of music and musicians, the New Grove dictionary of opera and the New Grove dictionary of jazz.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module - Health and medicine information that is easy to understand. Search results grouped by type; journal articles, book excerpts, popular magazine articles.HeinOnline - Legal journals, rare and out-of-print collections.
HighWire Press - Stanford University Library maintains HighWire Press, an online publisher of scholarly science journals.
Historical newspapers. - New York Times - Full-page-images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Historical statistics of the United States - Statistics from American history about population, work and welfare, economics, governance, and international relations.
History E-Book Project / American Council of Learned Societies - Online books for all history subjects.
Hoover's Online - Information about U.S. companies. Company profile database, online archives, the company home page register, the career opportunities register, and a corporate directory. Search by NAICS code in the Industries search.
Human resources report / BNA - Practical information for human resource and employee relations professionals or others seeking this type of information.
InfoSci-Online - Search book chapters, journal articles, case studies and conference proceeding papers covering Information Science, Technology and Management.
International Repertory of the Literature of Art & Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie - European and American art and architecture.
JSTOR - Journal articles available from initial date of publication (many from the 1800's) until 3 to 5 years ago. Exact replication of the original journal article.. For the best results, try limiting your search to the Discipline Collections you are interested in (found at bottom of search page).
L'Annee Philologique - Search academic journals, books, conference proceedings, theses, and book reviews in classics and classical studies.
Labor relations week - Legislative, regulatory, and general news organized by industry; analyzes and summarizes major labor relations' decisions that have an impact on labor relations; and tracks the full range of NLRB and court cases.
Library of Latin texts - Texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). On campus use only.
MasterFILE Premier - Search general reference, business, consumer health, general science, humanities, and multi-cultural periodicals. Includes Essential Documents in American History, a database of over 1,000 original historical documents.
MathSciNet - Mathematical literature from approximately 1,700 journals. Reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
Medicine Collection - EBSCOHost - MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals. USP DI Volume II, Advice for the Patient provides patient-oriented drug information in lay language.
Medline - part of PubMed, covers fields related to medicine, such as nursing and other allied health disciplines. It also provides very full coverage of the related biomedical sciences, such as biochemistry and cell biology.
Mental measurements yearbook - Reviews of standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Find tests, and then look them up in the Library catalog, http://cando.canisius.edu, to see if it is available to borrow.
MLA directory of periodicals - Detailed information on more than 7,100 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
MLA international bibliography - Search books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
National Newspaper Index - Search The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Abstracts only.
Naxos music library - Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music available online. While listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists.
NetLibrary - eBooks from NetLibrary. Browse the ebook online. If you like it, you can check it out to allow you exclusively to view the full text of an eBook during a defined checkout period. Books cover many education topics.
New York State Newspapers - Search ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the Buffalo News, New York Times and the New York Post.
Newspaper source - Full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. Abstracts only for other regional newspapers.
O*NET Occupational Information Network - O*NET, the Occupational Information Network, is a comprehensive database of worker attributes and job characteristics. Information on skills, abilities, work activities, and interests associated with occupations.
OVID Databases - Collection of databases includes; Bibliography of the History of Art, Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeolgie, International Repertory of the Literature of Art, Buros Mental Measurements Yearbook, and Philosopher's Index.
Oxford art online - Excellent introductions to and overviews of artists, works, styles, and movements in the visual arts. What's Covered: Encyclopedia articles, images, and dictionary entries.
Oxford Journals Online - Full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Oxford reference online - Dictionary definitions, facts, figures, people, places, dates and quotations.
Philosopher's index - Search books and journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
Proceedings - Conference proceedings worldwide. Abstracts only.
Professional development collection - Designed for professional educators, this database searches a collection of over 500 full text journals.
Project Muse - Full-text, user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ProQuest - Full text and abstracts of more than 4,000 general and academic journals, the Buffalo News, New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
Proquest newspapers - Search major US national newspapers and the Buffalo News.
PsycARTICLES - Search general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research journals in psychology.
PsycINFO - Search serial and book literature in psychology and related disciplines.
PubChem - Chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities, substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data.
PubMed - covers fields related to medicine, such as nursing and other allied health disciplines. It also provides veryfull coverage of the related biomedical sciences, such as biochemistry and cell biology.
Regional business news - Search business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
RIA checkpoint - Search the United States tax reporter library, Federal tax coordinator library, Public domain library, RIA citator 2nd, RIA tax alerts, WG & L journals, State and local tax materials. Off campus access: http://0-checkpoint.riag.com.cando.canisius.edu/login?iploc=CAUSCOGE
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy - Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Sage journals online - A full-text database of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine journals.
SBRnet : sports business research network - News and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources.
Science Databases (EBSCOHost Science/Medicine) - Search all or one; MEDLINE, SPORTDiscus, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, GreenFILE
ScienceDirect - Full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, social sciences and business.
Serials directory - Up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.
SPORTdiscus - EBSCOHost Science/Medicine - Search exercise physiology, medicine, biomechanics, coaching, counseling, psychology, and sports medicine literature.
Standard & Poor's netadvantage - Searchable database of Standard & Poor's publications: Industry surveys; Stock reports; Corporation records; Outlook; and Register of corporations, directors and executives.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae - Search ancient Greek literature from Homer (8th century B.C.) to 600 A.D. with historiographical, lexicographical and scholastic texts from the period between 600 and 1453 A.D.
Title Source 3 - Search for books published in the U.S.
TOPIC search - Current events database covering social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other current topics.
Twayne Authors Series - Criticism, interpretation and discussion of nearly 600 authors and their works, as well as literary movements and genres. Information about authors, ancient to modern.
ValueLine - Comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. In library use only, for assistance ask at the Reference Desk.
Web of science (Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index) - The most complete search of science and social science literature available.
Westlaw Campus - A collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal and state case law, court rules, statutory and regulatory materials, reference publications, and full text legal periodicals as well as legal guides and information for pre-law students
Wiley Interscience - Full text access to peer-reviewed journals covering: social science, life sciences, physical sciences, medicine,business, economics, accounting, math and statistics.
WorldCat - Holdings for libraries worldwide.

